Australia and New Zealand will host of FIFA’s Women World Cup in 2023 at Sydney Opera House 26 June 2020. Image: Shutterstock

Joint-bidders Australia and New Zealand were announced as hosts for the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, following a vote taken by the FIFA Council.

The host selection was held via videoconference following the Council’s meeting, in which FIFA supremo Gianni Infantino announced the winning bid.

There were two bids from three countries; Australia and New Zealand, and Colombia.

The joint bid submitted by Australia and New Zealand received 22 of the 35 valid votes cast by Council members in the first ballot, with Colombia obtained 13 votes. 

For hosting bid, Australia nominated seven cities Perth, Adelaide, Launceston, Melbourne, Sydney, Newcastle and Brisbane. Meanwhile, New Zealand submitted the cities of Wellington, Auckland, Hamilton, Christchurch and Dunedin.

Following the astounding success of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 in France and the subsequent decision by the FIFA Council, the 2023 edition will be the first to feature 32 teams. It is also the first to be hosted by two nations, and across two confederations.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an international football competition contested by the senior women’s national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s international governing body.

The competition has been held every four years since 1991 when the inaugural tournament was held in China.

Under the current format, national teams vie for 23 slots in a three-year qualification phase with the host nation is automatically entered as the 24th slot.

Four teams have won the tournament. The United States has won four times and is the current champion after winning the recent edition in France in 2019.

The other winners are Germany with two titles, Japan and Norway with one title each.

Six countries have hosted the Women’s World Cup. China and the United States have each hosted the tournament twice, while Canada, France, Germany, and Sweden have each hosted it once.

The qualifying rounds for the competition will start at the end of 2021 to 2022, with the finals will be held between July 10 to August 20, 2023.

Source from

This article was first published on June 27, 2020 in our Weekly E-Paper issue 95

The Bruneian | KUALA LUMPUR


Follow by Email
error: Content is protected !!